321 studio jewellers, 52 rings each- The 2011 Ring-a-Week Challenge

In 2011, 321 studio jewellers answered to a Flickr challenge to make one ring a week and post a photograph of the finished piece to the community group. The challenge was conceptualized and initiated by Thomasin Durgin. There were no fixed rules. Rings did not need to be made of metal, nor did they need to be tangible objects.

1 year=52 weeks=52 rings.

I’d never taken on such a challenge before and jumped right into it. The results surprised me too, as I pushed the limits of my technical and narrative skills each week, with each piece.

Here they all are. Yup! All 52 of them in one post 😉

RAW 1

RAW 1

The Lovebird family: Front & Back

The Lovebird family: Front & Back

RAW 3- And spring surges forth

RAW 3- And spring surges forth

RAW 4- Marigold: Summer blossom

RAW 4- Marigold: Summer blossom

RAW 5- a late april shower

RAW 5- a late april shower

RAW 6: Spring birds

RAW 6: Spring birds

RAW 7

RAW 7

RAW 8-Beaten and weathered...O! but it's new ; )

RAW 8-Beaten and weathered…O! but it’s new ; )

RAW 9 & 10- The ante stone and the stone ring

RAW 9 & 10- The ante stone and the stone ring

RAW 10 & 11- the stone and the ante stone ring

RAW 10 & 11- the stone and the ante stone ring

RAW 12

RAW 12

RAW 13

RAW 13

RAW 14- The gathering at dusk

RAW 14- The gathering at dusk

RAW 15- Marigold: Winter blossoms

RAW 15- Marigold: Winter blossoms

RAW 16- at the threshold

RAW 16- at the threshold

RAW 17- Winter always turns to Spring

RAW 17- Winter always turns to Spring

RAW 18- bends & turns

RAW 18- bends & turns

RAW 19- nest

RAW 19- nest

RAW 20- a ring for viswakarma day

RAW 20- a ring for viswakarma day

RAW 21,22,23-the seed, the germinating seed & the flower

RAW 21,22,23-the seed, the germinating seed & the flower

RAW 24- Sprouting

RAW 24- Sprouting

RAW 25- cleansed

RAW 25- cleansed

RAW 26- Delhi's monsoon

RAW 26- Delhi’s monsoon

RAW 27: The silhouette

RAW 27: The silhouette

RAW 28

RAW 28

RAW 29- The homecoming

RAW 29- The homecoming

RAW 30- Almost a circle

RAW 30- Almost a circle

RAW 31 & 32: the ante stone rings

RAW 31 & 32: the ante stone rings

RAW 33 & 34- the artefact and the new

RAW 33 & 34- the artefact and the new

RAW 35

RAW 35

RAW 35- winter flowers

RAW 36- winter flowers

RAW 37- winter flowers

RAW 37- winter flowers

RAW 38 & 39- winter flowers

RAW 38 & 39- winter flowers

RAW 40, 41, 42, 43- Paper Thin

RAW 40, 41, 42, 43- Paper Thin

RAW 44-49: Metamorphosis

RAW 44-49: Metamorphosis

RAW 50- A sacred time

RAW 50- A sacred time

RAW 51: om ring

RAW 51: om ring

RAW 52: an ugly ring

RAW 52: an ugly ring

6 thoughts on “321 studio jewellers, 52 rings each- The 2011 Ring-a-Week Challenge

  1. Whoa! You finished! Congratulations Pallavi! A great accomplishment! I remember some of those. I certainly don’t remember them all but I loved seeing your rings all together here. I think that’s the year I began to get to know you and it was because of that challenge that we met online. I finished too. I was and am very proud of that. Cheers my artistic friend! I would know your work any time I saw it.

    • Thanx Catherine! I completed the challenge 1 week into 2012. gosh! it felt good…given how much we’d all achieved and how much i’d wanted to give up towards the end. Unfortunately, I closed my flickr account in a moment of madness 2 years ago and lost all my work. Hence the post…it really was a long time coming 🙂

      • I didn’t know you closed it. That’s too bad those pictures are gone. I go long periods without posting on Flickr but I like having it because I have so many photos there and my computer can’t hold them. Who knows, I might do something else for a whole year? So where do you store all the photos of your finished work?

        Anyway, I was certain that I was going to finish because I told myself that starting something like RAW was only going to happen if I finished and to not bother if I had an idea I might not, so I committed to it. I didn’t think I would be first to finish but I was. Stacy Maddock was neck and neck with me and I was certain it would be her victory but then she didn’t post her last ring. I even asked her about it a year or so later and she said she didn’t post her last ring. I’ll not forget her because of that.

        Onward!
        xo

      • All pics on my comp…but then I don’t make jewellery at the rate that you do. I didn’t know there was a contest going on between who would finish RAW 1st…ha ha Catherine….you’re adorable!! and my heartiest congratulations to you 🙂 😀

      • That WAS madness! I keep my Flickr account open because my computer couldn’t handle all those pictures. Most of them are older photos of my earliest work. I have long periods when I don’t post there but who knows, maybe there will be a reason again.

        Did you know I finished first? I was sure Stacy Maddock was going to do it but she didn’t post her last ring. Even a year or more later no last ring so I asked her about it and she didn’t post it. If she had, perhaps I would have been second to finish. The rest is history.

Leave a Reply

