My passion stands like a blackened doorway

When I read Patrick White‘s poem, ‘I should lie in the sun and melt into the grass’, I was struck by the subliminal intensity with which he painted the narrative.

When the Open Call for Direct Inspirations: New Work Presented with the Art That Inspired It was announced, I decided to use a part of the poem to create my piece.

As I read the poem again and again, I found myself strongly drawn to the last two stanzas:

And o my darkness, there are so many skins you have yet to shed
like the moon trying on a wardrobe of water
laying her gown across the lake like an early frost of sequins.
I shall come to you at first as a premonition
as lightly as a cloud touches the mountain, an aberrant insight,
a synchronistic intuition of our simultaneity,
and in your breath my breath shall be an atmosphere
and in your eye my eye shall lavish the most intimate of stars,
and in your blood my blood shall be the poppy and the rose.

Sister Lunacy, even after the house has burnt to the ground
my passion stands like a blackened doorway in the rain
and though I look at you through a broken window,
the moon is whole, and the sky is not torn or bruised.

You can read the whole poem here: http://www.poemhunter.com/best-poems/patrick-white/i-should-lie-in-the-sun-and-melt-into-the-grass/

Entries for Direct Inspirations: New Work Presented with the Art that Inspired It can be viewed here: http://www.trueaddictsofdailyart.com/direct-inspirations.html

Submissions for the exhibition are open till Dec 1, 2014: http://www.trueaddictsofdailyart.com/directshow.html

My passion stands like a blackened doorway

Brooch

sterling silver, burnt wood, shard of glass, acrylic paint

2014

My passion stands like a blackened doorway

My passion stands like a blackened doorway

My passion stands like a blackened doorway: Back
My passion stands like a blackened doorway: Back

2 thoughts on “My passion stands like a blackened doorway

Leave a Reply

