An adventure to hope for.

The bench

The bench

September’s Blog-o-sphere Think Tank topic:  “Describe an adventure you hope/want to experience in your lifetime.”

I’ve been in depression for some years now on account of relentless harassment and constant public humiliation by my family and a lay Buddhist organization that I was once a part of for many years.
By the time I left the organization, all of those relations seemed alien and irrelevant.

The only thing that kept me alive through this entire ordeal, was my memory of making jewellery, which I love passionately and the beautiful jewellery-making posts generously shared by my online friends.
I’m far from well even today.

Recently, I read a post of one the Blog-O-Sphere’s members (http://andescruz.wordpress.com/2014/08/20/solitude-august-blog-o-sphere/), and it started me thinking about my life and the aspirations that once were.
I’ve slowly started working in and on my studio again, taking one day at a time.

Everyday I wake up hoping to recreate a sense of that adventure in my studio, that I once possessed, making it worthwhile to have lived another day.

Construction of the soldering station

Construction of the soldering station

The design table

The design table

Here’s a great quote I came across and pinned it on my board:

‘As hard as it is, stop caring so much about what other people think. Find a way to hear what you want. Recognize what is your dream. And then put everything you have into that: your work, the relationships you surround yourself with, the food you put in your body. Everything you have control over in your world should feed that dream and make you feel like a GIRLBOSS.’ Christene Barberich.

You can read my friends posts on this topic here:

Andes Cruz:  http://andescruz.wordpress.com/2014/09/20/adventure-blogospherethinktank/

Catherine Witherell:  http://happydayart.typepad.com

Shelagh Blatz www.designsbyshelagh.com/blog

Beth Cyr – http://BethCyr.com/blog

10 thoughts on “An adventure to hope for.

  1. it’s true…. every day is a new opportunity to start fresh. It’s hard, but worth it. And thank you for the shout out, about being inspired by my last months blog ❤

    Hang in there…. slowly forward is better than not at all. xxo

  2. Well, this is an eye-opening post Pallavi. I didn’t know this about you and I’m glad you shared it. It seems like a difficult thing to bear. I have not ever been depressed but certainly your circumstances would make a person unhappy. I see your dream of a soldering station taking shape. I have seen you interact with friends online. I hope you grow to feel like what happened wasn’t going to stop you from enjoying your life.

    If you ever need someone to talk to about things from an entirely different perspective, I’m here. I’ve always loved your enthusiasm, how friendly you are, your unusual (to me) posts on facebook and the delicate things you make in silver.

    You’ve always portrayed yourself until today as a happy person.

    Namaste dear woman. Sending you love and peace from California.

    Catherine

  3. big hugs Pallavi! i often struggle with “hearing” what it is I really want. it is sometimes hard for me to reconcile wanting to feel connected to everyone and everything, whiling maintaining a singular identity. i’m glad you have your jewelry passion to hold on to!! you are so talented!!

  4. thankyou All for your lovely words. You’re a source of great strength to me. I really look forward to blogging with the positive vibrant minds of the Blog-o-sphere think tank group. 🙂

  5. A wonderful post! My silversmithing helped bring me out of a bad postpartum depression, to focus on something creative & not about any of the things that are seeming to be a problem. I’m so glad that you are finding peace in that. Welcome to the group.

Leave a Reply

